41.6 F
Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Governor honors six Muscatine County scholars with award

Muscatine Living

I Miss…

In the midst of navigating all the changes that have come during this season of life in...

Managing Your Workplace Retirement Plan

About 80 million Americans actively participate in employer-sponsored defined contribution plans such as 401(k), 403(b), and 457(b)...

Sunburned at 36

I was off work last Thursday, July 2, when my wife Kasey, suggested we take the kids...
Margaret Stadtwald
Margaret Stadtwaldhttps://discovermuscatine.com
Margaret Stadtwald works as the Editor of Discover Muscatine Newspaper.

MUSCATINE, Iowa–Six Muscatine County high school students, Lucas Callison, Elizabeth Howard, Ryan Lukkarinen, Laura Millage, Rachel Ostergren, and Jacob Riefert received the designation of 2020 Governor’s Scholars. Since 2003, the award has honored the top two academic students at Iowa’s 64 largest high schools and the top senior academic achiever at each smaller high school. Each honoree received a plaque and certificate via mail, as the COVID-19 pandemic made an in person ceremony impractical.

In a congratulatory letter to winners, Governor Kim Reynolds said: “Iowa has a proud history of educational excellence, and this year’s honorees are a product of that tradition. You are a role model for your community and all students across the state. In these unprecedented times, it is your generation who will lead us into new opportunities in science, technology, agriculture, education, and business in the coming years.”

Lucas Callison–Durant High School:

Lucas Callison

Callison graduated first in his class. In addition to excelling in his high school studies, Callison also took dual enrollment classes at Muscatine Community College. Involved in many extracurricular activities, including student council and National Honors Society, Callison also played football, basketball, golf, and baseball.

Elizabeth Howard–Muscatine High School:

Elizabeth Howard

An active member of her class, Howard served as both student council and National Honors Society president. She also played golf and considers winning the conference golf meet her sophomore year one of her biggest achievements in high school. After graduation, Howard looks forward to attending the University of Mississippi to double major in mathematics and public policy and minor in French.

Ryan Lukkarinen–Muscatine High School:

Ryan Lukkarinen

Lukkarinen did a little bit of everything in high school, participating in National Honors Society, becoming an Eagle Scout, earning three varsity letters in cross country, and receiving a silver cord for all of his volunteer hours. Lukkarinen will attend Saint Ambrose University next fall and major in chemistry.

Laura Millage–West Liberty High School:

Laura Millage

The valedictorian for her class, Millage attained great academic success in both her high school and dual enrollment classes. A gifted musician, Millage took great pride in earning the Arion and Louis Armstrong Fine Arts Awards. Millage will attend Iowa State University and major in molecular biology with a pre-medicine focus.

Rachel Ostergren–Louisa-Muscatine Junior-Senior High School:

Rachel Ostergren

Dual enrolled at Louisa-Muscatine Junior-Senior High School, Muscatine Community College, and Graceland University since her sophomore year of high school, Ostergren has worked hard to achieve academic success and prepare herself for college. Ostergren also enjoyed serving as the vice president for National Honors Society and participating in their volunteer opportunities. This fall, Ostergren will attend the University of Chicago and major in economics.

Jacob Reifert–Wilton Junior-Senior High School:

Jacob Reifert

Reifert stayed involved with many student groups in high school including National Honors Society, student council as a class officer, and in numerous volunteer opportunities, which earned him his silver cord. Following graduation, Reifert will major in computer science at the University of Iowa.

Latest News

A turning point for Vision 20/20

MUSCATINE, Iowa--July 1 marked a turning point for Vision 2020. Cheryl Plank started as CEO of Vision...

DJAAGOU A EXPORT LLC celebrates three years in Muscatine

MUSCATINE, Iowa--When Ognadon "Eddy" Djagou, a recent marketing and management graduate, immigrated to the United States from Togo in 2012, he knew...

Headquarters to offer new dining and entertainment options

MUSCATINE, Iowa--"I've always wanted to open a bar and restaurant in Muscatine," shared Jerry Healey, owner of Riverside Diner in downtown Muscatine...

Fairport Fish Hatchery pump house saved for restoration

MUSCATINE, Iowa--For months, Mussels of Muscatine, a collaboration between the National Pearl Button Museum @ History and Industry Center and other local...

More Articles Like This