41.6 F
Thursday, December 3, 2020

    Senator from eastern Iowa elected Assistant Majority Leader

    Mark Lofgren
    Mark Lofgrenhttps://www.legis.iowa.gov/legislators/legislator?ga=87&personID=9406
    Mark S. Lofgren Muscatine County Term: Serving first term in Senate. Served two terms in House.Profession: Real estate sales.Education: Graduated from Muscatine High School. Received A.A. from Muscatine Community College. Received B.B.A. in finance from the University of Iowa. Memberships and Activities: Youth sports coach.Birth and Residence: Born in 1961 in Muscatine. Resides in Muscatine. Family Members: Wife, Paula; one son and three daughters.

    Muscatine Living

    Living History: Jim Yerington

    A native of Muscatine, Jim Yerington has always enjoyed living in the city. After finishing school, Yerington went to...

    Mission Pawsible Dec. 02

    Adopt Peep! Breed: Male harlequin domestic short hair Four-months-old Peep the kitten loves to play and has an outgoing personality. He...

    New opportunities for agricultural trade with China

    By Wendong Zhang--Iowa State University Extension and Outreach AMES, Iowa – Trade relations with China continue to be one of...

    DES MOINES, Iowa – Senate Republicans elected Senator Mark Lofgren as an Assistant Majority Leader on Friday. 

    “It’s an honor to be chosen by my Senate colleagues for this leadership position,” Lofgren said. “I look forward to helping to lead our work together in the Iowa Senate to bring about great opportunities for the people of Iowa for many years to come.”

    The Republican leadership team consists of the following senators:

    • Majority Leader, Senator Jack Whitver, Ankeny
    • President of the Senate, Senator Jake Chapman, Adel
    • President Pro Tempore of the Senate, Senator Brad Zaun, Urbandale
    • Majority Whip, Senator Amy Sinclair, Allerton

    Assistant Majority Leaders:

    • Senator Chris Cournoyer, LeClaire
    • Senator Carrie Koelker, Dyersville
    • Senator Mark Lofgren, Muscatine
    • Senator Zach Whiting, Spirit Lake 

    Lofgren served two successful terms in the Iowa House before his election to the Iowa Senate in 2016. He represents District 46, which includes Muscatine County and part of Scott County. He works as a realtor with EXIT Realty Group in Muscatine and owned a small business for many years. He and his wife, Paula, have four children and four grandchildren and reside in Muscatine.

    Latest News

    Gov. Kim Reynolds announces members of new Computer Science Work Group

    This content provided by the Office of the Governor of Iowa, Kim Reynolds as a press release. Gov....

    EXECUTIVE COUNCIL – December 7, 2020 – CANCELLED

    This content provided by the Office of the Governor of Iowa, Kim Reynolds as a press release. EXECUTIVE COUNCIL - December 7, 2020...

    Badges, birthdays, and besties battle to save Christmas

    MUSCATINE, Iowa--For her birthday this year, Pearl City Media Director of Public Relations Ashley Loveless wants nothing more than to help the Salvation Army...

    City recognized with 36th straight budget presentation award

    CHICAGO – The Government Finance Officers Association of the United States and Canada (GFOA) recently announced that the City of Muscatine, Iowa, has received GFOA's...

    National Pearl Button Museum assists genealogy research

    MUSCATINE, Iowa--In the 1920s, the pearl button industry reached it's heyday with Muscatine at its epicenter. Annually, the city produced 1.5 billion pearl buttons,...

    Get Discover Muscatine in Your Inbox

    More Articles Like This