Muscatine FFA holds virtual awards presentation

Muscatine FFA's 2019-2020 members in the FFA greenhouse last fall.

MUSCATINE, Iowa– Though both the COVID-19 pandemic and the weather created obstacles for Muscatine FFA’s award ceremony this year, the group still honored its distinguished members. After school closures led them to cancel their banquet this spring and thunderstorms called off their outdoor ceremony July 9, Muscatine FFA’s organizers still recognized this year’s outstanding students with an online award presentation. FFA leaders also arranged for students to physically pick up their awards from Muscatine High School using a drive through system.

Each year, Muscatine FFA honors their members as the progress through the ranks. This involves awarding Greenhand degrees to first year students, chapter degrees to sophomores, and recognizing students who completed the requirements for Iowa and American Degrees. This year, Emily King and Bob Carver earned the Star Greenhand Awards. Dailyn Garrett, Hope Reichert, James Sprague, and Alli Youngbauer earned their Iowa Degrees. Hunter Britton and John Brooks earned their American Degrees.

Along with recognizing students who had participated in FFA contests at all levels, Muscatine FFA’s award presentation also honored those who won chapter awards. Some highlights included numerous recipients of the Judd Leland Most Improved Award with Crew Schliesman named overall most improved, several Bob Brauns Most Active awards with Alli Youngbauer and Hope Reichert as overall most active, and 58 scholastic awards, given to those who earned a GPA of 3.5 or above. Special recognition went to Andrew Van Nice as this year’s Star Agri-Business award winner and Elaina Lee as the 2020 Star Agri-Production award recipient.

As part of their annual tradition, Muscatine awarded its senior scholarships as well as its four named scholarship. This year, the group felt pleased to give away more than $6,000 in scholarship money.

In their closing remarks, Muscatine FFA advisors Dave Tometich, Sam Paul, Ashley Wiebe, and Josh Day thanked students for their flexibility during this challenging year. “We are proud of the work the students have put in this year and even though the last few months there have been changes of plans, contests that have been cancelled, and many things up in the air, we are grateful for sticking with things the best you all have,” they wrote.